Within the last weeks we saw SWANS two times – at OFF FESTIVAL KATOWICE and at FLOW FESTIVAL HELSINKI. Both times they completely blew us away. Now their new studio-album titled The Seer was released and it is – to say it in short words – a stunning one.

Swans - The Seer


Disc One
1. Lunacy (featuring Alan Sparhawk and Mimi Parker)
2. Mother of the World
3. The Wolf
4. The Seer
5. The Seer Returns (feat. Jarboe)
6. 93 Ave. B Blues
7. The Daughter Brings the Water

Disc Two
1. Song for a Warrior (feat. Karen O)
2. Avatar
3. A Piece of the Sky (feat. Jarboe and AKRON/FAMILY)
4. The Apostate

Located somewhere between experimental music, noise and drone, Michael Gira, who is a legend himself, shows what it means to sink into music. Once you put The Seer in your player and started to listen to it you will pulled into the songs for the entire album-length. When the album stops you realize that you just where in some kind of trance for about two hours. Once you opened your mind to the atmosphere these SWANS build up you literally cannot escape from dreaming away. They just come and catch you.
I was thinking a lot of GRAILS latest album Deep Politics, because it is as progressive, atmospheric, experimental, unusual and special as this. But The Seer is not that dark, but more psychedelic. For both records GRAILSDeep Politics as well as for SWANSThe Seer you need to be ready and you need a lot of time, because the bands need a lot of time to build up the songs and the atmospheres.
It is the band’s twelfth album and it features vocals by great artists such as YEAH YEAH YEAH‘s vocalist Karen O, Alan Sparhawk and Mimi Parker of LOW, members of AKRON/FAMILY, BEN FROST, “Grasshopper” from MERCURY REV and former SWANS member Jarboe. In an interview with Pitchfork frontman Michael Gira told that the album took about “30 years to make. It’s the culmination of every previous SWANS album as well as any other music I’ve ever made, been involved in or imagined. But it’s unfinished, like the songs themselves. It’s one frame in a reel. The frames blur, blend and will eventually fade.” Further he tells that “the songs began on an acoustic guitar, then were fleshed out with (invaluable) help from my friends, then were further tortured and seduced in the studio, and now they await further cannibalism and force-feeding as we prepare to perform some of them live, at which point they’ll mutate further, endlessly, or perhaps be discarded for a while.”
Are you ready to take the two hour journey with The Seer? If you like to challenge yourself with a sophisticated album that you will probably still listen to in ten or twenty years, The Seer is for you! A release that is without any doubt one of the best of the year 2012.

stream The Seer here:


[one_half last=”no”]

experimental / noise / rock
from New York, USA


[one_half last=”yes”]