Theme Park - Theme Park (2013)


01. Big Dream
02. Jamaica
03. Two Hours
04. A Place They’ll Never Know
05. Tonight
06. Saccades
07. Wax
08. Ghosts
09. Still Life
10. Los Chikas
11. Blind

A famous saying by Irish dramatist George Bernard Shaw once stated “Youth is wasted on the young.” A wisdom that never goes out of date it seems. Especially when you leave the area of adolesence you’ll look quite often back in regret or probably also pride. But also you’ll recapitulate things that happened and find yourself thinking of it from a different perspective. It’s a time of lightheartedness and almost endless freedom and possibilities. And don’t get us wrong, there’s no intention in looking back with bitterness and naivety. It’s a time you should enjoy and celebrate, even in retrospect. British indie-pop trio THEME PARK and their self-titled debut album have dedicated themselves to this credo. It’s a record that worships youth for everyone who’s still living it or just stayed young in his heart.

No coincidence since frontman Miles Haughton prefers to write his songs in moments of happiness rather than in the sad ones like many of his colleques. He says: “I’m looking for the moment where you find something that’s so great you want to loop it around, get up and dance to it. You’re happy because you’re dancing and you’re happy because you wrote it – it’s a double hit of happiness.” Yes, sometimes life can be so simple and the aim of this record is really to capture this unique atmosphere between leaving school and being in your early twenties, although the artists are also a bit older by now. It’s a life-affirming mixture of grooving disco-pop, new wave romance and easy-going indie mentality.

[one_half last=”no”][/one_half]

And it’s about love, life, girls, parties and all these shiney important things during this period. While the opener Big Dreams is a slow grooving start, Jamaica is the first instant hit of the record with Haughton singing “We can let it go cause summer girlfriends, house in Jamaica, said ‘Oh, we’ve got a drink we can bring”. Further lyrical examples include “We got the love / we got the night / we got the time / we got the fight” in the smooth Wax or “Come on baby, let’s fly tonight – we’ll be all we ever wanted” and the addictive new single Tonight. So, yes, don’t expect any depth or meaningful advice in here. It’s smooth indie-pop straight for the dancefloor – if you enjoyed groups METRONOMY, FRIENDLY FIRES or – well – maybe even the good old TALKING HEADS in their lighter  moments, the three lads from THEME PARK might be your soundtrack for the upcoming spring and summer of 2013.

Because that is basicly all this album wants to be. Big anthems like Two Hours or Ghosts disguised as little pop songs. A record that is celebrating the endless possiblities and good sides of life. If cynicism and bitterness not aleady destroyed the child in you and if you like good, easy floating positive pop music, than there is a high chance you get addicted to this little longplayer. The songs are catchy and still there is a smooth melancholia in the voice of Haughton that is quite fitting to these teenage anthems. And seriously – even if Mr. Shaw was right, how boring would life and musical culture be if it losts its juvenile carefreeness.