It’s been almost four years since UK producer Matthew Barnes released proper material under his moniker FOREST SWORDS. Now he returns with a new studio album called Compassion. It’s his first full-length release since 2013’s Engravings and it arrives on May the 5th via Ninja Tune. Aside from that Mr. Barnes hasn’t been lazy after all over the past years, for example by producing music for the dance piece Shrine last year.

The uncertainty of our time plays a crucial part in the new LP as Barnes states about the record:

‘Like many, with all that’s been going on since I started making the record, I’ve struggled to see any kind of light at the end of the tunnel so I realised there’s some sort of power in trying to create our own instead. I’m inspired by the ways we’re communicating now, for better or worse, and thinking about new channels we can distribute ideas. The idea of looking for flexible future ways of expression and language, that bends to our needs quicker, really excites me.’

So far, three singles are up for stream: The Highest Flood,Arms Out and Panic. Experience them all with their impressive visuals below. You can also still read our interview with Matthew Barnes from 2014 right here.

‘Compassion’ – Tracklist

01. War It
02. The Highest Flood
03. Panic
04. Exalter
05. Border Margin Barrier
06. Arms Out
07. Vandalism
08. Sjurvival
09. Raw Language
10. Knife Edge


‘Arms Out’

‘The Highest Flood’