M83 - Junk - Artwork

Five years after his acclaimed double LP Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming dreampop producer Anthony Gonzalez and his alter ego M83 are finally unleashing a long awaited follow-up. The new album goes by the simple name Junk and is set for a release on April 8 via Mute Records. In a press release Gonzalez reflects on the Junk title:

Anything we create today is going to end up being space junk at one point anyway, and I find it really fascinating and scary at the same time – beautiful too in a way. I have this image of pieces of humanity floating in space, lost forever. It also means that nowadays everything goes so fast and everybody is kind of throwing away art in a certain manner. People will listen to an album for instance and just pick a track they like to put on a playlist. They’re not going to take the time to listen to an album anymore because they have to jump on the next thing.

The funny artwork is above, the tracklist below as well as Do It, Try It, the joyful opening track of the new M83 longplayer.

M83 – ‘Junk’ – Tracklist:

01. Do It, Try It
02. Go! [ft. Mai Lan]
03. Walkway Blues [ft. Jordan Lawlor]
04. Bibi the Dog [ft. Mai Lan]
05. Moon Crystal
06. For the Kids [ft. Susanne Sundfør]
07. Solitude
08. The Wizard
09. Laser Gun [ft. Mai Lan]
10. Road Blaster
11. Tension
12. Atlantique Sud [ft. Mai Lan]
13. Time Wind [ft. Beck]
14. Ludivine
15. Sunday Night 1987

Alternative video link right here.