Photo by Mike Dempsey

Atlanta-based MANCHESTER ORCHESTRA will release their new album A Black Mile To The Surface on July 28, 2017 via Loma Vista Recordings. It’s their first LP in three years and also the follow-up to last year’s critically acclaimed score for the 2016 Sundance hit film Swiss Army Man. The band’s Andy Hull describes the new soung in the following words:

‘We’re a band that loves to use heavy, crunchy guitars. We wondered how we could limit the use of that, so that when the guitars come in they can be creative and impactful. For Swiss Army Man we had to make seventy minutes of music with our hands tied behind our backs. When you’re creating all the sounds you need just from the human voice, it allows you to rethink what is possible, and determine what is really needed. We wanted to make an album in a ‘non-Manchester’ way if there is such a thing.’

You can experience the tender first single The Gold right below the album’s details (including quite a consequent tracklist).

‘A Black Mile To The Surface’ – Tracklist

01. The Maze
02. The Gold
03. The Moth
04. Lead, SD
05. The Alien
06. The Sunshine
07. The Grocery
08. The Wolf
09. The Mistake
10. The Parts
11. The Silence

‘The Gold’