Photo by Kim Black

Acclaimed singer/songwriter Sam Beam returns with a new album by his project IRON & WINE this summer, the first one since Ghost On Ghost from 2013. The new LP goes by the name Beast Epic and arrives on August 25 via Sub Pop. And yes, he named it that way ‘mostly because it sounds really fucking cool’ as he states in the press release. He furthermore describes the LP in the following words:

‘The sound of Beast Epic harks back to previous work, in a way, as well. By employing the old discipline of recording everything live and doing minimal overdubbing, I feel like it wears both its achievements and its imperfections on its sleeve.’

First music from Beast Epic arrives in the form of Call It Dreaming and Thomas County Law which both come with a J. Austin Wilson-directed video clip you can enjoy below the album’s artwork.

‘Beast Epic’ – Tracklist

01. Claim Your Ghost
02. Thomas County Law
03. Bitter Truth
04. Song in Stone
05. Summer Clouds
06. Call It Dreaming
07. About a Bruise
08. Last Night
09. Right for Sky
10. The Truest Stars We Know
11. Our Light Miles

‘Thomas County Law’

‘Call It Dreaming’