Who doesn’t mind a good boogie? Halifax quartet trio The Orielles surely doesn’t. The hype behind the band started of just right after finishing Grammar school. Since then their single Sugar Tastes Like Salt was remixed by no one else than the late great Andrew Weatherall while gaining recognition outside the indie scene with their remix of Peggy Gou’s Itgehane. On top of that, they’re regular guests in BBC6 Music’s heavy rotation and have been playing at major festivals including Glastonbury. On their just released second record Disco Volador (via Heavenly Recordings) they proved their contemporary definition of indie hailing somewhere between space rock, funk and psychedelia.

Because of these very different influences, we asked them to compile an exclusive NBHAP Guestmix. Being labelled as their ‘Coming Back To Earth Mix’, their 56 minute mix seems like the perfect addition to their LP. Starting off with the very atmospheric Illusion of Time by Daniel Avery and Allesandro Cortini, the mix continues with the likes of Stereolab and Arthur Russell leading onto the very funky Otis by The Durutti Column. Here’s what the band has to say about their compilation:

“This is a post-meditation mix that’ll be sure to bring you back to earth and reality in the most peaceful way possible. Perfect for winding down after a hard days work, or to lift you up in the morning!”

That being said, don’t just listen to their guest mix but also to Disco Volador. For more psychedelic funkiness, check the band out on their ongoing tour!

The Orielles – ‘POST-GONGBATH (coming back to Earth mix)’ – Tracklist

01. Daniel Avery & Allesandro Cortini – Illusion of Time
02. Peter Zummo – The Tape is Chill
03. Isotope 217 – Harm-o-Lodge
04. Microstoria & Stereolab – Microlab:Endless Summer 
05. Jane Weaver – Majic Milk (loops variation)
06. Penguin Cafe Orchestra  – The Sound of Someone You Love Who’s Going Away And It Doesn’t Matter
07. Talk Talk – I Believe in You
08. Emahoy Tsegue-Maryam Guebrou – Homesickness
09. Beverley Glenn-Copeland – Sunset Village
10. Arthur Russell – Lucky Cloud
11. Mojave 3 – Love Songs on the Radio
12. The Durutti Column – Otis