[one_half last=”no”]
Kiasmos - Cover

[one_half last=”yes”]KIASMOS
Release-Date: 27.10.2014
Label: Erased Tapes

01. Lit
02. Held
03. Looped
04. Swayed
05. Thrown
06. Dragged
07. Bent
08. Burnt

NBHAP Rating: 4/5


The music of KIASMOS is like a grammatical chiasmos – full of opposites and contrasts. Particularly the dichotomy of electronic and classical music. Although there are so many differences contained in every single song, the differing elements fit perfectly together by creating an abstract and unique soundscape. A grooving vibe with a classical foundation, like a natural flow.


ÓLAFUR ARNALDS and Janus Rasmussen manage it to evolve an absorbing sound cosmos by only using minimalist elements. Lit can function as an example: the six-minutes long opening track begins with spheric synthesiser tones, accompanied by barely inserted burbling sounds. Decent cymbal- beats are added after almost one and a half minutes. These are followed by a rhythmical drum beat which fades into a restrained part only consisting of piano and strings, to finally get back to the initial sounds.


KIASMOS‘ music is difficult to reach. It consists of sounds which you need to soak in – language is superfluous. The album is a trip to a foreign universe of sound, functioning without any words. After only eight tracks the longing for more is inevitable; and that should be proof enough that this musical joint venture worked out quite fantastic. A highly recommendable record for all lovers of just good music.

KIASMOS debut record feels like a journey to an unknown cosmos. Classical and electronic elements are linked together to create something indescribable, without needing any words.