Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin - Fly By Wire  - Cover- 2013



01. Harrison Ford
02. Young Presidents
03. Cover All Sides
04. Lucky Young
05. Ms. Dot
06. Loretta
07. Unearth
08. Bright Leaves
09. Nightwater Girlfriend
10. Fly By Wire

So it would appear that to be a solid indie-pop band these days, your name has to be at least five words long.  Think of SATURDAY LOOKS GOOD TO ME and THE PAINS OF BEING PURE AT HEART, and now we have SOMEONE STILL LOVES YOU BORIS YELTSIN.

From Springfield, Missouri, SSLYBY had the pleasure recently of flying to Yekaterinburg, Russia.  They met with Yeltsin’s friends and personal translator, and performed at an elementary school as “Cultural Ambassadors for a day.”  Take note, band names are important and can open doors for you.

SOMEONE STILL LOVES YOU BORIS YELTSIN’s new album Fly By Wire is a ten tracks of pure sunshiney melodies and power pop goodness. Fans of the BEATLES, THE BEACH BOYS, and plainly awesome male harmonies should check out this album. The LP opens with Harrison Ford : a reflective piano intro which incorporates drums and slowly builds to a toe tapping reminiscence that, as far as I can tell, has nothing to do with the actor Harrison Ford. With lyrics like “And the night moves way too slow/ How the heart beats I’ll never know” you know we are firmly in the pop realm.

Since the band is three guys (Will Knauer, Philip Dickey and Jonathan James) plenty of the songs are about girls. Ms. Dot, begins with an organ tone and then comes to a crooning “My love won’t mind…” refrain. This is a feel-good album to put on now that summer is over and we are all putting away our shorts and flip flops and sun hats. Feel nostalgic, feel bittersweet, get swept away with surf guitar tones, and think about what could have been, with Fly By Wire.