Photo by Tom Hinesisa

Three years after their successful breakthrough record Singles, American synthpop three-piece FUTURE ISLANDS returns with a new studio album this spring. The Far Field arrives on April 4 via 4 AD. The Far Field features string and horn arrangements by Patrick McMinn and also – for the first time – live drums from member Michael Lowry. The first single Ran shows that FUTURE ISLANDS are back at familiar territory.

You can watch the Albert Berney-directed music video for Ran below which sticks to the song’s title and sees leading man Samual Herring running through the fields, although it comes with a slightly psychedelic experience in the end. A second single arrives in the form of Cave, accompanied by a special lyric video featuring Jonathan Lamberton, NYC Mayor Bill de Blasio’s American Sign Language interpreter. Watch it below and find the band’s forthcoming tourdates as well.

‘The Far Field’ – Tracklist

01. Aladdin
02. Time on Her Side
03. Ran
04. Beauty of the Road
05. Cave
06. Through the Roses
07. North Star
08. Ancient Water
09. Candles
10. Day Glow Fire
11. Shadows
12. Black Rose