Photo by Vidas Cerniauskas

Photo by Vidas Cerniauskas

The past months have been really good for acclaimed German composer HAUSCHKA as his score for Lion with Dustin O’Halloran recently received nomintations for the Golden Globe and BAFTA. Now, the charismatic musician returns with a new studio album on March 31 called What If. And on it, he’s desitned to present new adventures to the listener as he embraces a new wild chaos in his musical microcosm. He explains:

I definitely decided with ‘What If’ to make a record that might be my most radical. The lyrical piano has disappeared, and the sounds I’m fascinated by – like noise and electronic elements – have taken over.’

He furthermore describes the nature of What If in the following press statement:

I had the idea of doing an album that is, in a way, a statement about the world in which we’re living and in which I see my kids growing up. What If deals with utopian concepts, and speculates about the world in 30 years’ time. The more I feel questions being raised, the more I try to understand how activity is needed to make the drastic changes required, and there are still people out there who deny that global warming or other similar circumstances exist. Even scientists can’t convince them anymore, so I wanted to dedicate this to such thoughts. The record is there to create awareness for certain topics, but I didn’t want to make it too heavy. It’s more like a very playful way of dealing with our perspectives.’

A first piece of the new HAUSCHKA record can be streamed below in the form of Familar Things Disappear. Artwork and tracklisting are also waiting for you to be discovered as well as our interview feature with the musician from 2014.

Hauschka - What If

‘What If’ – Tracklist

01. I Can’t Find Water
02. Constant Growth Fails
03. My Kids Live On Mars
04. I Need Exile
05. I Can’t Express My Deep Love
06. Nature Fights Back
07. Familiar Things Disappear
08. Trees Only Exist in Books
09. We Live a Thousand Years

‘Familiar Things Disappear’