Lasers – Exchange Levels - 2013 - album cover

LASERSExchange Levels

01. …Roof Down
02. As You Want
03. Come Over
04. Weightless feat. Merche Blasco (Burbuja)
05. Alex Eardrum
06. Dimensions
07. Bird Feeder
08. Levels

As spring is slowly arriving, the days get longer again and the sun is finally up for more than just a few minutes each day you can’t help but longing for the warmth of a lovely summer day. A couple of hours on the beach, a cool drink in your hand and smooth beats in your ears – it’s probably just one suitable situation in which we can experience Exchange Levels, the sophomore studioalbum by Spanish three-piece LASERS – out April 15 via Irregular Label.

It’s a record that feels like pure unadulterated pleasure and enjoyment. Uplifting sounds, funky grooves and soulful basslines that just makes you wane seize the day. In the tradition of other nu-disco or balearic house acts, LASERS celebrate the funky groove of retro-influenced disco and italo house beats and combine them with poppy samples, piano melodies and synthesizer bliss. It feels more like Chicago and New York back in the early 80s than Barcelona in the here and now. Very smooth, very relaxed and quite down to earth although the trio might have their heads already up in space.

Exchange Levels is the perfect record of oldschool house and electropop beats in the style of Frankie Knuckles and other legends. It’s the background-soundtrack for lush summer nights and sunny days on the beach, for riding with your bicycle through the park or having friends over for a barbecue. Well, and that’s not a bad thing. After listening to the new LASERS longplayer it almost feels 5 degrees warmer here. And since we want you to get the same feeling, we are happy to bring to the exclusive album stream of Exchange Levels right here.