Photo by Victoria Kovois

Acclaimed experimental hip hop outfit SHABAZZ PALACES return with their first album in three years this summer. The epically titled Quazarz: Born On A Gangster arrives on July 14 via Sub Pop and is a concept album based on the character Quazarz who is described as ‘a sentient being from somewhere else, an observer sent here to Amurderca to chronicle and explore as a musical emissary’ in the press release. And even better – the duo will release another second album on that day called Quazarz vs. The Jealous Machines.

And if that alone isn’t confusing enough, just read what the character itself has to say about himself:

‘I, Quazarz, Born On A Gangster Star, son only of Barbara Dream Caster and Reginald The Dark Hoper – he who rides on light – dreamer of the seventh dream and kissed eternal by Awet the Sun Scented – who far from home I found my same self differents in those constellies that be Dai at my weap-side immediate and all us Water Guild affiliates who revelries in the futures passed recordings and ceremonies flexing resplendent in the Paradise Sportif armor –  raising these musics a joy/cry that way into these aquadescent diamondized ethers of the Migosphere here on Drake world. Welcome To Quazarz.’

Alrighty, then. First music off the new SHABAZZ PALACES release arrives in the form of the surprisingly soulful Shine A Light and the beautifully weird opening track Since C.A.Y.A. which features THUNDERCAT on bass. Both tracks are up for stream below.

‘Quazarz: Born on a Gangster Star’ – Tracklist

01. Since C.A.Y.A
02. When Cats Claw
03. Shine a Light (feat. Thaddillac)
04. Dèesse Du Sang
05. Eel Dreams (feat. Loud Eyes Lou)
06. Parallax (feat. The Palaceer Lazaro)
07. Fine Ass Hairdresser
08. The NeurochemMixalogue
09. That’s How City Life Goes
10. Moon Whip Quäz (feat. Darrius)
11. Federalist Papers

‘Since C.A.Y.A’ (feat. Thundercat) ‘

‘Shine a Light (feat. Thaddillac) ‘