El VY - Return to the Moon - Artwork

Matt Berninger, charismatic lead singer of THE NATIONAL and Brent Knopf of MENOMENA and RAMONA FALLS have formed a new band called EL VY. The two indie rock heavy weights will release their debut album Return To The Moon on October the 3rd via 4AD. Matt Berninger explains his lyrical work for the record in the following words: ‘This record is more autobiographical than anything else I’ve written, but the details aren’t true. It’s written in the voices of a few invented characters, composites of different people—myself, my wife, and other people I was thinking about.’

Already today EL VY share a first song off the album in form of the opening title-track. You can watch the lyric video below the album’s official tracklist.

EL VY – ‘Return to the Moon’

01. Return to the Moon (Political Song for Didi Bloome to Sing, With Crescendo)
02. I’m the Man to Be
03. Paul Is Alive
04. Need A Friend
05. Silent Ivy Hotel
06. No Time to Crank the Sun
07. It’s a Game
08. Sleepin’ Light (ft. Ural Thomas)
09. Sad Case
10. Happiness, Missouri
11. Careless

Alternative video link right here.