The ongoing comeback of vinyl remains a really joyful success story. It’s not always about the new releases but also about the classics. All the digging in record shops – whether it’s online or analogue – just for the sake of finding all those hidden treasures and experiencing their special sound. Ukrainian producer Ivan Dorn is no exception here and a dedicated follower of the medium. ‘I love this unique, warm, solid and shaggy vinyl sound, the one and only – nothing will simulate it,’ he explains.

The sound of the Kiev-based artist is packed with all sorts of different influences, references and passion for music that goes way beyond one genre. His latest album OTD delivers an adventurous mix of electronic dance music, hip hop, jazz and pop, delivering multiple nods to the past decades of pop music. It’s quite surprising and yet very catchy as it also helps to put the Ukranian scene on the map.

Despite the modern approach of Ivan Dorn‘s music the exclusive NBHAP Guestmix he produced takes us right back to the golden era of oldschool hip hop, rap and also jazz. Dorn explains: ‘My earliest musical memory is my uncle’s vinyl collection – he has a lot of Alla Pugacheva and Soviet funk, pop from USSR.’ That was the time he actually got introduced vinyl. Today this music medium still remains quite important for him.

‘I’m making music and always digging some great samples. I’m collecting vinyls – friends knows, that it’s the best present for me, buying it everywhere on tour or while travelling. I dig it, change it and use in my forthcoming tracks officially.’

If you like to dig through old records as well and love to discover new music like we do then this mix will definitely brighten up your day. It’s 33 minutes of cool and soulful sweetness and we happily invite you to check it out below. Ivan Dorn is also heading on tour soon, so don’t forget to check out the dates below as well.

Ivan Dorn’s NBHAP Guestmix – Tracklist

01. The Pharcyde – Just Don’t Matter
02. Siah and Yeshua DapoED – Gravity
03. Digable Planets – Pacifics (Sdtrk «N.Y. is Red Hot»)
04. Mos Def Feat. Dr. Luke – Respiraton (Dr. Luke Remix)
05. Wildchild – Kiana
06. J Dilla feat. Guilty Simpson & Madlib – Baby
07. Nick Faber – Same Girl Different Wig
08. Common Market – Spits
09. Uriel – Lazy Days