Photo by Joe Dilworth

One of the most adventurous new groups in recent history is finally back with new music: ALGIERS. The Underside Of Power is the name of the new album that arrives on June 23 via Matador Records and according to the press release we can expect everything ‘from Southern rap to Northern soul, gospel to IDM, industrial to grime to italo’.

The band around charismatic leading man Franklin James Fisher promises a furious and politically loaded album that mixes despair and frustration with a hopeful approach towards a change. It’s quite a bit and the Henry Busby-directed video for the title-track underlines that approach. Another tune arrives in the form of Cleveland. Enjoy the new ALGIERS material below.

‘The Underside Of Power’ – Tracklist

01. Walk Like A Panther
02. Cry Of The Martyrs
03. The Underside Of Power
04. Death March
05. A Murmur. A Sign.
06. Mme Rieux
07. Cleveland
08. Animals
09. Plague Years
10. A Hymn For An Average Man
11. Bury Me Standing
12. The Cycle/The Spiral: Time to Go Down Slowly


‘The Underside Of Power’