Death Cab For Cutie - We Are The Rhoades

Photo by We Are The Rhoades

Last summer founding member Chris Walla announced his departure from American indie rock institution DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE, today the remaining three-piece officially spreads the news about their new album. Kintsugi is the name of the record that will be released on March the 31st, four years after Codes And Keys. You can find the full tracklist of the album below. Of course, a lot of the album deals with Walla leaving, although he was still part of the recording process.

Frontman Ben Gibbard on the album in an interview with Rolling Stone: ‘This is an opportunity for the band to become something it could only become by losing a founding member. It’s our goal to make records that rank amongst the best work we’ve ever done. I completely respect and understand why people love ‘Transatlanticism’ or W’e Have the Facts…’ or ‘Narrow Stairs.’ And I would hope that as we move forward, people listen with as little prejudice as they can and try to hear the music for what it is and not what they want it to be.’

According to DEATH CAB FOR CUTIE bassist Nick Harmer the title Kintsugi refers to ‘a Japanese style of art where they take fractured, broken ceramics and put them back together with very obvious, real gold.’ We’ll keep you updated once there’s actual new music from the record.

Death Cab For Cutie – ‘Kintsugi’

01. No Room in Frame
02. Black Sun
03. The Ghosts of Beverly Drive
04. Little Wanderer
05. You’ve Haunted Me All My Life
06. Hold No Guns
07. Everything’s a Ceiling
08. Good Help (Is So Hard to Find)
09. El Dorado
10. Ingénue
11. Binary Sea