Minor Victories - 2015

Remember when we reported about new ‘supergroup’ MINOR VICTORIES back last summer? Now, the band that features members of SLOWDIVE (Rachel Goswell), MOGWAI (Stuart Braithwaite) and EDITORS (Justin Lockey) will finally release its self-titeld debut album on June 3, 2016 via Fat Possum/ Play It Again Sam. A first single called A Hundred Ropes is also set to be released on April 8th.

An atmospheric video for it has also been released and Lockey explains it in the following words:

So it’s a one shot.. only actually 10 seconds of real time footage stretched out over minutes, with our humdinger of a tune relentlessly pounding away as the soundtrack! There’s an actual reason for this too! Basically the way I see it, we’re at a point where music videos or as they are most commonly known as nowadays “bits of content for the internets” are so crammed with narrative with an insane and relentless amounts of cuts / editing etc to keep you interested that it’s become the norm to Tony Scott the fuck out of every single frame these days…(we know as we are definitely 100% guilty of this on numerous occasions in the past!) But nowadays to be totally honest it just gives me a massive fucking headache watching music videos most of the time!

So, at the end of the day there’s nothing quite like the simplicity and beauty of a one shot done right… And a bunch of samurai’s emerging from a field and charging towards you at just under 1000 fps in monochrome? Well that’s always gonna look pretty cool whichever way you cut it.

Enjoy the MINOR VICTORIES clip right here.