Iron and Wine and Band of Horses announce collaborative cover album

Iron And Wine - Band Of Horses

Good news for all American folk lovers. Sam Beam (IRON & WINE) and Ben Bridwell (BAND OF HORSES) are teaming up for a collaborative album, featuring cover versions of their favourite tunes. Sing Into My Mouth is the name of the record which will be released in the course of this summer via Beam’s label Black Cricket as well as Bridwell’s Brown Records. It includes cover versions of songs by TALKING HEADS, SADE and EL PERRO DEL MAR.

Both artists share a long lasting friendship as Beam states in a press release: ‘Ben and I started our careers together and had been threatening to work with one another for years… He’s always been one of the funniest people I know.’ Bridwell shares the sympathy and explains: ‘This is truly a ‘full circle’ moment for me… I’ve always wanted us to sing together and finally I have that dream realized. I couldn’t be more excited to continue this project at the upcoming shows to take it even further while playing some of our original songs together.’

You can check the full tracklisting of Sing Into My Mouth right here as well as a performance by BAND OF HORSES for one of the tracks back in 2010.

‘Sing Into My Mouth’ – Tracklist

01. “This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody)” (Talking Heads)
02. “Done This One Before” (Ronnie Lane)
03. “Any Day Woman” (Bonnie Raitt)
04. “You Know Me More Than I Know” (John Cale)
05. “Bulletproof Soul” (Sade)
06. “There’s No Way Out of Here” (Unicorn)
07. “God Knows” (You Gotta Give to Get) (El Perro del Mar)
08. “The Straight and Narrow” (Spiritualized)
09. “Magnolia” (JJ Cale)
10. “Am I a Good Man?” (Them Two)
11. “Ab’s Song” (Marshall Tucker Band)
12. “Coyote, My Little Brother” (Pete Seeger)

Trails And Ways return with new single ‘Skeletons’

Trails And Ways - 2015 - Photo by David Wallace

Photo by David Wallace

Remember TRAILS AND WAYS? Two years after we first talked with the Californian band the four-piece is now ready to finally unleash its debut album in the course of 2015. The group signed to Barsuk Records and also shared a first song off the anticipated first full-length. It’s called Skeletons and it continues to deliver the sunny vibes we know from TRAILS AND WAYS. The record arrives later this year, you can already enjoy the single right here.

Tropics shares ‘Blame’ music video

Tropics - Blame - Video

TROPICS, the solo-project of London-based producer Chris Ward, presents the music video for Blame. The song is taken off his highly recommendable album Rapture which was relased back in February. Directed by Chloe Hayward it sees Ward slowly drowning in a beautiful sea of colours. Watch it right here.

David Bowie is working on stage play, based on ‘The Man Who Fell to Earth’

David Bowie - Photo by Jimmy King

Photo by Jimmy King

Almost one year ago we asked ourselves what DAVID BOWIE‘s next artistic move might be, now we know it. According to The New York Times, the legendary musician is currently involved in the writing of a new theatre production called Lazarus. The play is based on the 1976 BOWIE movie The Man Who Fell to Earth. The play will be co-written with Enda Walsh and it well tell a story based on BOWIE‘s character Thomas Newton, an alien who came to Earth and needs to discover the life down here. The production is likely to feature new songs by the artists but also re-arranged versions of old classics. And just to give to the right feeling you can watch the trailer right here.

The National present new single ‘Sunshine On My Back’

The National 2013 - Photo by Deirdre O'Callaghan

Photo by Deirdre O’Callaghan

It looks like almighty American indie heroes THE NATIONAL are back with new music. The band just released a brand new single called Sunshine On My Back on Spotify and iTunes. The song arrives as a special ‘Thank You’ to the fans since the band documentary Mistaken For Strangers is now available for worldwide purchase and rental. If you head over to the homepage of the movie you can get Sunshine On Your Back as well for free if you directly purchase the song.

The band is currently recording the follow-up to 2013’s Trouble Will Find Me  for a potential release later in 2015. Sunshine On My Back is taken off the recording sessions for the last album and also features SHARON VAN ETTEN on backing vocals. Stream the new song by THE NATIONAL right here.

Summer Camp announce new LP ‘Bad Love,’ share title-track

Summer Camp - Photo 2015

British indie-pop duo SUMMER CAMP has announced a new, third studio album. The follow-up to 2013’s self-titled record goes by the name Bad Love and is set for a release on May the 25th. Lead singer Elizabeth Sankey already promises more confidence on it: ‘The second album was about us trying to do something outside of our comfort zone but this one was more about doing what we felt comfortable doing, but doing it the best that we could.’ For their last album SUMMER CAMP also complied their favourite tunes for NOTHING BUT HOPE AND PASSION. And maybe their new single is going to be one of your favourites as well. Enjoy Bad Love right here.