Photo by Emma Le Doyen

Beloved French pop experts PHOENIX have finally shared some details about their new album via an article in the New York Times. The record with the name Ti Amo is set for a release on June 9 via Glassnote and it follows Bankrupt! from 2013. According to the interview singer Thomas Mars and his band recorded an album about ‘summer and Italian discos’ as further tracks on the LP with the names Via Veneto, Telefono and Fior di latte imply.

Ti Amo was also recorded in contrast to all the political madness that’s been going on over the past years, especially in the band’s home country. ‘At some point when we were in the studio, there was a slight sense of guilt,’ confesses Mars, ‘But we were comforted by the idea that the four of us working wasn’t escapism or denial. When that became clear, the guilt disappeared.’

A first single called J-Boy arrives with a fitting music video that shows the band performing in what appears to be a lost 1980s TV show from Italy. A second track that appears from Ti Amo is the album’s title track while a third one goes by the name Goodbye Soleil. Catch them all three below.

‘Ti Amo’ – Tracklist

01. J-Boy
02. Ti Amo
03. Tuttifrutti
04. Fior Di Latte
05. Lovelife
06. Goodbye Soleil
07. Fleur de lys
08. Role Model
09. Via Veneto
10. Telefono

‘Goodbye Soleil’

‘Ti Amo’