Haim - Days Are Gone  - Cover- 2013


HAIM Days Are Gone

01. Falling
02. Forever
03. The Wire
04. If I Could Change Your Mind
05. Honey And I
06. Don’t Save Me
07. Days Are Gone
08. My Song 5
09. Go Slow
10. Let Me Go
11. Running If You Call My Name


The all girl, Los Angeles based group HAIM is an indie pop band with a laid back party vibe that is as infectious as it is nostalgic. After receiving critical acclaim for their Forever EP fans have been waiting for a year for their debut album Days are Gone which is due out September 30th. Este, Danielle and Alana are a talented trio of sisters that draw their inspiration from the 70s soft rock and 90s R&B girls groups. Both influences show through in many ways on their debut album, from the up tempo beats to their flawless harmonizing. Each track is extremely catchy and danceable which makes Days are Gone a truly fun album from start to finish.

It’s not just the trio’s exquisite vocals that makes the album a must listen but their skills as instrumentalists as well (Este plays bass; Danielle plays guitar; and Alana, plays guitar and keyboards). Adding to the quality of album are the famed producers it features, James Ford (ARCTIC MONKEYS, FLORENCE AND THE MACHINE) and Ariel Rechtshaid (USHER, VAMPIRE WEEKEND). There is also a healthy amount of synthesizers used on many tracks which gives the album an air of 80’s nostalgia. Songs like The Wire and the title track Days are Gone are reminiscent of 80s group THE BANGLES. The album transports listeners back to a simpler time when singers could sing and only talented people where on the radio. Its refreshing to find an album that you can listen to over and over again.

Days are Gone is one of those rear albums where every track is excellent and is clearly one of the best debuts of the year. So please let the HAIM take over a big part of your heart.