[one_half last=”no”]
The New Pornographers - 'Brill Bruisers'

[one_half last=”yes”]THE NEW PORNOGRAPHERS
Brill Bruisers

Release-Date: 25.08.2014
Label: Matador Records

01. Brill Bruisers
02. Champions Of Red Wine
03. Fantasy Fools
04. War On The East Coast
05. Backstairs
06. Marching Orders
07. Another Drug Deal Of The Heart
08. Born With A Sound
09. Wide Eyes
10. Dancehall Domine
11. Spidyr
12. Hi-Rise
13. You Tell Me Where

NBHAP Rating: 3/5


15 and counting

THE NEW PORNOGRAPHERS are one of the honest constants of contemporary indie music. Since the release of their 2000 debut Mass Romantic they remained true to themselves, didn’t care much about trends or gaining success. They remained as ‘indie’ as it possible after the out-washing of the genre. And even their formula of joyful melody-loving pop and intelligent lyrics is still quite vital.


Yes, they’ve been often described this way since all members are also part of a few other well-known projects. Dan Bejar of DESTROYER might be just the most famous example. But all these different artists and vocals help to keep the music of THE NEW PORNOGRAPHERS exiting. Four lead vocalists give enough opportunities for each artist to unfold him- or herself.

Good times

Songwriter A.C. Newman called Brill Bruisers ‘a celebration record’ and it clearly represents that positive spirit. Enigmatic feel-good tracks like Fantasy Fools, Born With A Sound or Dancehall Domine dominate the record, sweet mid-tempo ballads like Champions of Red Wine or Wide Eyes invite us to dream a sunny summer dream. This is definitely no music for misanthropes; it is life-embracing pop music at its best.


Positive vibes as a special form of progress. ‘Brill Bruisers’ unlocks the uplifting side of THE NEW PORNOGRAPHERS while repeating their well-known formula once again.