[one_half last=”no”]
We Were Promised Jetpacks - Unravelling

[one_half last=”yes”]WE WERE PROMISED JETPACKS

Release-Date: 14.10.2014
Label: Fat Cat Records/Alive

01. Safety In Numbers
02. Peaks and Throughs
03. I Keep It Composed
04. Peace Sign
05. Night Terror
06. Disconnecting
07. Bright Minds
08. A Part Of It
09. Moral Compass
10. Peace of Mind
11. Ricochet


NBHAP Rating: 4/5


Exploring subtlety
WE WERE PROMISED JETPACKS began developing their songwriting with their second record In The Pit Of The Stomach already and now lift it to a new level on Unravelling – resulting in a more subtle, gentle and thoughtful sound. As good as the crashing indie-anthems of These Four Walls might be, these guys are smart enough to know that you can’t go all-in all the time. What’s the use of another eleven versions of Quiet Little Voices anyway?

Band of Brothers
Although WE WERE PROMISED JETPACKS do not actually share family bonds, they still seem to have a very close relationship with each other. These guys, despite their young age, went through a lot already. So maybe one reason why they keep growing as a band up to the point of such a mature record like Unravelling is that WE WERE PROMISED JETPACKS is more than just four (now five) decent musicians.

Space and timing
While the Scots tended to drench their songs in devastating noises on previous records, Unravelling is much more about leaving every part of the band its space to contribute to the songs. Especially Adam Thompson’s voice is in excellent shape here, rich and very conscience about which tone is needed in which place. Unravelling presents WE WERE PROMISED JETPACKS as a band being able to integrate post-rock, punk, indie and emo without making it seem pretentious.

Three records, three strikes: WE WERE PROMISED JETPACKS’ ‘Unravelling’ shows what an organically grown band is capable of achieving.