FOXOS – ‘Un-Unify (A Rework)’

We don’t need to tell you how great the new HUNDREDS LP Wilderness is, right? Check it out if you haven’t done it yet. And if you listen carefully through the deluxe edition of it you might spot this really haunting rework of producer Rick Jurthe aka FOXOS. His interpretation of the synthpop piece Un-Unify reduces the track to its tender core and the result now also gets a really sweet music video which you can enjoy below.

LAOISE – ‘You’

LAOISE is an artist from Galway in Ireland whose debut EP Halfway was written on the comeback trail from mental and physical difficulties, hence title, and she’s leading that EP with the single You.You is a heavy duty electro R’n’B number, LAOISE‘s icy vocal take balanced between shimmering synth lines and dubby beats, before it all gets swept up in the melodic flourish of the chorus. There are little echoes of BANKS here, but it’s a more glacial take on that sound. If you’re a fan of dark synth pop, then this is perfect for you. You is out on November 18 on A Place Called Kai, and the Halfway EP is out in January.

C Duncan – ‘Wanted To Want It Too’ (Maps Remix)

Glasgow musician C DUNCAN recently dropped his second album The Midnight Sun, the follow up to his Mercury-nominated debut Architect. Now MAPS, aka James Chapman, has taken the track Wanted To Want It Too from that album and remixed it into a new incarnation. Chapman’s remixed version takes the tempo down a notch from the original, reworking it’s synth-pop sound into a murkier, foggier slow-jam. The Midnight Sun is out now on FatCat Records.

Ex Reyes – ‘Do Something’ EP

EX REYES is New York musician Mikey Hart, and he’s just released his first solo EP Do Something (although at six songs, it is stretching a bit too long for an EP and edging towards album territory, but we’ll let him off with that). Written with a little help from Mitchell Yoshida of EDWARD SHARPE & THE MAGNETIC ZEROS, it’s an adventure in alt-pop, taking a little of ANIMAL COLLECTIVE‘s adventurous spirit and distilling into into melodic, shiny pop gems. It’s out now on Memphis Industries.

Ingrid Witt – ‘Babies Gonna Cry’

While we all wait for a new ROBYN or FEVER RAY record we don’t need to look that far away to seek for new exciting female electropop. In fact, we can actually stay in Sweden as INGRID WITT and her catchy piece Babies Gonna Cry delivers all the sweet pop pleasures we were looking for. On top of it, it’s a powerful anthem that addresses the the frustration of womanhood and its social pressure these days. Good stuff, kids!

J. Bernardt – ‘Calm Down’

Ghent-based BALTHAZAR have been keeping a low profile lately. Aside from their ongoing recording sessions for their fourth full-length album, this was because some of their members branched out into solo endeavours. After multi-instrumentalist and singer Maarten Devoldere’s WARHAUS and bassist Simon Casier’s ZIMMERMAN, co-singer and guitarist Jinte Deprez alias J. BERNARDT is the last one to release his solo debut single, and Calm Down is easily the boldest of the bunch. Where his colleagues barely moved away from BALTHAZAR’s laid-back, at times noir aesthetics, J. BERNARDT mothballs his guitar and violin. Instead, around a wordless vocal melody, Deprez groups brassy synthesizers, stuttering drums and even a marimba, which makes for a surprisingly intriguing listen. If you’re not among the lucky ones to see him open for LOCAL NATIVES, watch out for his debut album out next year via PIAS.

Bat and Ball – ‘Be Mine’

BAT AND BALL is formed of the siblings Abi and Bob Sinclair as well as their mate from univerity Hari Chamers. The authentic sound of London based indie-pop band is characterized by the unique and strong voice of frontwoman Abi Sinclair and meaningful lyrics. Their single Be Mine impresses by clever and sinister pop melodies that are challanging and fun to listen to at the same time. BAT AND BALL is a band you definitely should keep and eye on. Their debut album is going to be released in early 2017.


Once again we have to listen twice to  JAAA! to not mistake Poland-based band for Thom Yorke/ RADIOHEAD spin-off/ leftover material. The complexity of their eclectic experimental math pop/rock is still as marvellous as it was back in March and it invites all listeners to an epic exploration. The band is currently working on their second LP so we can only assume what interesting adventures lie ahead.

If you want the latest sounds don’t forget to follow NOTHING BUT HOPE AND PASSION‘s ‘Weekly Discoveries’ playlist on Spotify, featuring the 50 freshest new songs we recently featured on our page. For other more frequent news don’t forget to follow NBHAP on Twitter and Facebook as well.