Broaddaylight – Anniversaries: Reunions - Album Cover (2013)

BROADDAYLIGHT Anniversaries: Reunions

01. arpeggio
02. anniversaries
03. reunions
04. interlude
05. melisandre
06. oceans
07. warmth




Shoegaze/ dreampop band BROADDAYLIGHT presents its new album Anniversaries: Reunions, featuring seven new tracks between tender melodies and psychedelic wave sounds. The group – formed by James Eakins (guitar, synths, and electronics), Henry Bennett (guitar) and Sarah Eakins (vocals) in 2005 – already released two EP’s in the past. The Bell Jar was released in 2005 and Stars Out five years later, in 2010, after the band had to take a break for while.

So the gap wasn’t that big this time. And once again BROADDAYLIGHT had the pleasure of working with one of their very own idols for this release. Robin Guthrie – part of the legendary COCTEAU TWINS – mastered the new longplayer once again, giving it this special spheric sound. It’s a mixture of ambient-like electronica, almost trip-hop like beats, heavily reverbed and fuzzy guitar-walls and the fragile voice of singer Sarah Eakins. Or as the press release states: “The record easily puts you in a dreamlike state but can suddenly awaken you with the harsh realities of life in our modern world.” We’ve couldn’t have said it better.

For everyone who enjoys fuzzy guitar sounds and dreamy soundscapes in the style of MY BLOODY VALENTINE or SLOWDIVE, this three-piece is one worth checking out. And NOTHING BUT HOPE AND PASSION invites you to discover this journey as we exclusively stream the new record Anniversaries: Reunions right here.